In 2014, the French parliament passed a law reducing the number of metropolitan regions from 22 to 13 with effect from 1 January 2016. Updated map of French regions contains all new regions and five overseas departments.

According to these changes the map of French regions has been rewritten.

New regions of France:
  1. Alsace-Champagne-Ardenne-Lorraine
  2. Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes
  3. Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
  4. Bourgogne-Franche-Comté
  5. Bretagne
  6. Centre-Val de Loire
  7. Corse
  8. Île-de-France
  9. Languedoc-Roussillon-Midi-Pyrénées
  10. Normandie
  11. Nord-Pas-de-Calais-Picardie
  12. Pays de la Loire
  13. Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur
  14. Guadeloupe
  15. Martinique
  16. Guyane française
  17. La Réunion
  18. Mayotte

Note that until July 1st, 2016 some regions have temporary names. Using the CSSMap plugin you can easily change them using the list of regions.

Updated map of French departments will be available in June.